Good Eats: Strawberry Rhubarb Dessert

On most occasions, I find myself grabbing anything that stands out at the farmer’s market:  fresh herbs, sausages, flowers, eggs, raw honey, spicy mustard, bok choy.  Rarely a methodical process, I am left with an odd array of choices in my kitchen, making for a sometimes challenging meal integration.  So, when I purchased some rhubarbs and strawberries at this past weekend’s market, I was surprised that I knew precisely what I would make–before my purchase.

This dessert is some parts pie, some parts cobbler, and all parts delicious.  It takes little precision, and can be altered to fit whatever your needs.  Use a different fruit combo, try it sans pie crust, or even sans cobbler topping.  Either way, it won’t sit on your counter top for long.

Ingredients

  • Pie crust (I caved and used a pillsbury crust for the sake of time, though I would have preferred homemade)
  • Approx 2 cups strawberries, sliced
  • Approx 1 cup rhubarb, sliced
  • 3/4 cup of sugar
  • 1/2 cup flour
  • 1 egg
  • dash of salt
  • tsp (ish) vanilla
  • 7 tbs butter

Instructions

Preheat oven to 375 degrees.  Grease 8 x 8 pie dish and place pie crust inside.  Toss strawberries, rhubarb, and half of sugar in a bowl.  In a separate bowl, combine flour, the rest of the sugar, egg, butter, vanilla, and salt.

IMG_2920

Place strawberry-rhubarb mixture inside of pie crust, and spoon cobbler mixture on top.  Bake for approximately 40 mins, or until golden brown.

IMG_2921

Slice and share with your family while you enjoy a family film viewing of The Sandlot.

Leave a Reply

