Good Eats: Oven Roasted Potatoes and Pole Beans with Shallots and Garlic

I’ve been harvesting a lot of these pole beans lately, and there are so many, that I hardly know what to do with them. I planted them as sort of an experiment in the spring, and given my unique ability to kill the things that I obsess over, decided not to expect much.  I’m shocked at their abundance, and frankly, was feeling a bit annoyed.

They’re beautiful and surprisingly fruitful, but here’s a little secret: I don’t particularly care for pole beans.  They’re slightly chewy and bitter.  I’ve eaten them raw, boiled, and sauteed, but they’re pretty awful.  However, I’ve remained vigilant in my pursuit of doing them justice (I did, after all, grow them), and have finally found a way to choke them down; nay, enjoy them!

One of my favorite ways to prepare vegetables is to roast them.  They always come out of the oven glistening, with a little bit of color on them, looking absolutely stunning.  Why I didn’t think to do this before, I’m not really sure, because it was the perfect solution.  The pole beans developed a beautiful, crispy skin that has given me a new found appreciation for these precarious little veggies.

You can prepare this with any kind of vegetable, though roasting times will vary.  Regardless of the type of veggies you choose, I would always include the garlic and shallots.  They kind of make the dish.

*Tip:  chopping larger vegetables into sizes that match the smaller vegetables you choose to include, will aid in providing an even roasting.

Serves 4, but if you’re like me, you will eat them all yourself.

INGREDIENTS

  • A bunch of pole beans (about two handfuls)
  • 6 red potatoes (cut into 1/4s)
  • 4 shallots (cut into 1/4s), peeled
  • 8 whole cloves of garlic, peeled
  • 4 tablespoons of olive oil
  • 2 sprigs of rosemary
  • salt
  • pepper

INSTRUCTIONS

Preheat oven to 425 degrees.  Lightly oil cooking sheet.

In a large bowl, combine beans, potatoes, shallots, and garlic cloves with olive oil.  Sprinkle half of rosemary into the bowl, and liberally distribute salt and pepper, so that each vegetable is covered.

Spread vegetable mixture onto cooking sheet and top with additional rosemary.

Cook for 25-30 minutes, checking frequently.  Cook times may vary.

Plate, and enjoy!  Bread is a nice addition with this side, as you can spread the roasted garlic and shallots on top.  I’d probably throw a little goat cheese on there with it.

What are some of your favorite ways to prepare persnickety vegetables?

Roasted Vegetables | Midwestern Musing

Leave a Reply

