Good Eats: Chimichuri

065

If you have not experienced chimichuri, then friend, you are missing out on something wonderful.  This is one of those recipes that is extremely easy, but because of it’s impact seems intricate.  As you eat it you’ll just think, “where have you been all my life?!”  I say think, because you’ll likely be rendered speechless.

This specific recipe is from my Argentinian grandmother, who is by far the best chef I have ever had the privilege of meeting.  She and my grandfather owned a quaint little restaurant when I was a child, and it was here that my love affair with Argentinian food began.  I have memories of being filled to the brim with her delicacies: the very items that my culinary palette now naturally favors.

Chimichuri is great on meats, potatoes, vegetables, bread, and in my opinion everything else under the sun.  When I make it, it tops every item on my plate.

*Tip: If you like yours with some extra kick, add a couple extra cloves of garlic.

INGREDIENTS

Makes 4-6 servings

  • 2 bunches of parsley
  • 6 cloves of garlic, peeled
  • 1/2 shallot, peeled (optional)
  • 6 Tablespoons olive oil
  • 1 Tablespoon white balsamic vinegar
  • splash of lemon juice
  • salt and pepper to taste

Combine all ingredients in a food processor.  Blend until smooth.

066


069

Leave a Reply

