Good Eats: Squash Pie

I’ve harvested quite a bit of butternut squash this fall. Unfortunately, I am the only one in the house who actually enjoys it. I’m working with some persnickity eaters when it comes to squash over here. It doesn’t even matter the variety, my housemates just don’t care for it. Sneaking it into a pie was the only way I could think to get some help in consuming my abundance of butternut. I just couldn’t do it myself!

This recipe transforms butternut squash into a dessert, and it’s great. It’s a twist on the veggie that I personally haven’t seen before, and one I think I may actually prefer to pumpkin pie.  Try it during the upcoming holidays.  I guarantee it will be a hit!

Ingredients

  • Pie crust
  • 1-1/2 cups cooked squash
  • 1 cup packed brown sugar, packed
  • 3/4 cup evaporated milk
  • 3 eggs
  • 1-1/2 teaspoons vanilla
  • 2 tablespoons flour
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1-1/2 teaspoons cinnamon
  • 1/4 teaspoon nutmeg
  • 1/4 teaspoon ginger
  • 1 tablespoon melted butter

* Make this gluten-free by substituting sweet rice flour or amaranth for the flour, and use a gluten-free pie crust.

IMG_4480

Instructions

Preheat oven to 400 degrees.  Grease pie dish and lay out pie crust.  Set aside.

Combine all filling ingredients into a blender.  Blend until smooth and poor filling into pie crust.  Bake for 45-55 minutes, or until a knife inserted in the center comes out clean.  Let cool and enjoy!

What is your favorite way to prepare butternut squash?  Have you tried it in pie-form before?

2 thoughts on “Good Eats: Squash Pie

Leave a Reply

